News Monorail Red in motion with guests on board and doors open

ToTBellHop

I’ve been told Disney was meeting with some companies this past week on possible train replacements...
Probably just alerting them all that they won't be receiving a rose:

caila-quinn-02-a6a00f7e-f687-42d5-b8f1-2aec10ad2593.gif

source.gif

msg7

What about the tracks?
I'm no transportation expert but I imagine that they would be able to size the underside of the train to the beam accordingly.

Question to everyone: Do you guys think they'll use an existing monorail design (Innovia 300) or design the Mark VIII from scratch? I was watching Mickey Views (a pretty good Disney Parks youtube channel), Brayden, the host, suggested that they just re-do the interior and exteriors of the passenger cabins similar to Disneyland's Mark Viis while keeping the same passenger car and get new cab cars. Thoughts?

Last edited:

Myth Maker

I'm no transportation expert but I imagine that they would be able to size the underside of the train to the beam accordingly.

Question to everyone: Do you guys think they'll use an existing monorail design (Innovia 300) or design the Mark VIII from scratch? I was watching Mickey Views (a pretty good Disney Parks youtube channel), Brayden, the host, suggested that they just re-do the interior and exteriors of the passenger cabins similar to Disneyland's Mark Viis while keeping the same passenger car and get new cab cars. Thoughts?

The only real benefit I see of the 300 series to the 200 series is the walk through trains. This would allow more capacity and for an attendant to be on board to clean the trains while they are running.

I believe the beams are 3' wide as well, allowing a train to beam evac of the entire train. A much safer design.

The 200 series has walk through "cars" allowing more capacity and flush platform loading. Watch the video of the automated full height platform doors of the Las Vegas monorail for an example.