Monorail Accident

marni1971

Park History nut
Premium Member
Im a police officer and that crash was not a low speed crash which is weird entering a terminal with people
What`s low in monorail terms? This one would have had a combined impact speed of around 20-30 mph. A reversing train is limited to a maximum of 15mph using MAPO overide, which Pink had to do to reverse, and Purple was in a 30mph zone and decellerating to enter a 15mph zone that begins not 100ft from the point of collision.

So many procedures failed at the worst possible time.

SOLISIMO

What`s low in monorail terms? This one would have had a combined impact speed of around 20-30 mph. A reversing train is limited to a maximum of 15mph using MAPO overide, which Pink had to do to reverse, and Purple was in a 30mph zone and decellerating to enter a 15mph zone that begins not 100ft from the point of collision.

So many procedures failed at the worst possible time.

Ok thank you that proves my point

DVCMBR05

Ever since we heard the news of the monorail crash yesterday, a bunch of us on Twitter have been trying to honor Austin, the monorail operator who lost his life yesterday, by trying to get his name to appear on Trending Topics on Twitter.

If you're on Twitter, please tweet #Austin at 3:00pm EST today. Even if you read this after 3:00pm EST today, please continue to add #Austin to all your tweets.

Spread the word to your Disney tweeps on Twitter! Let's do this for Austin!

If anyone cares, we achieved our goal and the Orlando Sentinel posted a blog about it. See the link below.

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/et...ail-driver-austin-wuennenberg-on-twitter.html

Jasonflz

I was in Magic Kingdom the day of the crash.

The weird thing was, my monorail shut down when it reached the station. Apparently it was having magnetic issues and we were relocated onto a different one that led to the resorts.

LudwigVonDrake

I don't know if this has been mentioned and it's just a guess on my part: