Expedition Everest effects status watch

KeithVH

I believe it’s been discussed in this thread, that while that is a popular rumor, that is actually untrue . That the true problem I believe is within the actual yeti itself. Movement causes stress on a joint and constant maintenance would be required to keep it A mode.
That is what I was saying. There is an arm (I called it a platform. Sorry.) that pushes the Yeti out. That is what supposedly has the crack. And it was here in WDWMagic that I found this out from the insiders here. But regardless of what I called it we are saying the same thing. Too much stress on the part and too expensive to keep fixing it since it will continue to break. :)

I get what y'all are saying but, as a mechanical engineer, I call Bravo Sierra like a zillion plus. I honestly cannot believe that whoever designed this didn't take such forces into account. That's like 2nd and 3rd year classes (Kinematics, Materials). It's not like the materials they used were unknown.

It stopped working because it was not properly maintained, which was significantly more work than initially expected. It’s not just turned off because of a damaged structure. The figure would require repairs/redesign but fighting over who should pay (Imagineering who delivered something much harder to maintain or the park who had trouble keeping up with the maintenance) is why it just sits there.

This I get. Makes total sense. Any other argument is just noise. Then again, this just seems to indicate incompetence and office politics rather than concern for the guest.

lazyboy97o

I get what y'all are saying but, as a mechanical engineer, I call Bravo Sierra like a zillion plus. I honestly cannot believe that whoever designed this didn't take such forces into account. That's like 2nd and 3rd year classes (Kinematics, Materials). It's not like the materials they used were unknown.