The Spirited Seventh Heaven ...

71jason

i didn't suggest that or ask if it would. i'm merely asking if it might create a shift in opinion both in the public and corporate spheres.

i'm not a lawyer, nor am i going to pretend to be one over the internet. however, as someone capable of critical thinking, i'd merely assume that landmark supreme court cases have some kind of impact on the overall consciousness of the public. i don't think many americans know and/or care about how much personal information they willingly hand over to companies. since this ruling, in essence, protects data collection on cell phones in criminal cases under the fourth amendment, maybe very conservative corporate america becomes more leery of doing so for mining purposes? thinking, at some point, their boilerpoint terms and services may be challenged and cost them an a** ton of money? or maybe enough people stop and think, "huh. wonder what i'm giving up when i use my iphone"? or maybe there's no reaction or correlation at all.

again, not really offering an authoritative view on the matter, but thought it might be relevant to continue framing some of the MM+ discussion.

I actually am a lawyer, and sort of an expert on constitutional criminal law. This case was very limited in scope, to physical, "real world" inspection of a suspect's cell phone following arrest. The police can still access the information on your phone if they have a a warrant, which won't be that hard to get if you've already been arrested. What the Court basically said is reading through your call list is different than emptying your pocket (for a couple different reasons none of which I feel like rehashing). It's a major case for police, but sadly I don't think it demonstrates a new-found respect for privacy of information.

RivieraJenn