To ADP or not?

mdubm

Original Poster
We live about 7.5 hours from Disney. We were just there in June, I just took a trip back myself with school for a field trip. I'm constantly dying to go but the prices are so discouraging and I'm just a measly teacher. So I'm debating getting an ADP. My questions are:
1. Aside from the park hopping, having an unlimited ticket, 20% off some food and merch, and parking, what are other perks?
2. Do you find you truly get your money's worth with it?
3. I can't afford a whole family ADP. I prob would just get for me. Do they offer a Children’s ADP for a different price? I have a 4 year old who I'd usually take with me. Is it worth it for just me to get one and no one else in my family? How do you do this?

In other words, someone please convince me it's worth it to shell out almost $800 on an ADP

Monty

Brilliant...and Canadian
In the Parks
No
It comes down to how often you expect to go. If you'd go three or four times per year or more, it's likely worth getting APs.

APs cost the same for all guests 3 years old and up.

As a teacher, your choices for dates are probably limited to times when room discounts are less likely to be available. Discounts are only a benefit if they're on things you'd be purchasing anyway.

AndrewsJ

I also have a question. If you get an annual pass, do you get a discount on rooms?
Sometimes. Depending on if the discount is available during your dates and only a certain number of rooms qualify for the discount. Discounts are not guaranteed and are not a reason to purchase an AP.

zengoth

it's a question we have to ask ourselves every year. It always comes down to how often in a year you will go.
I don't know how long the deeper passholder discounts will last (20%), so research.
We always tell people free parking makes it worth it, especially as we parkhop.
We also chose to get the pass with blackout dates to save money, as we don't enjoy Disney (or much else) in the dead of summer.

StarWarsGirl