screen printing your own t-shirts

Kev1417

Original Poster
i didn't know where else to place this thread, so why not with all the crafts?

i've picked up on screen printing my own t-shirts this year using the speedball system. has anyone attempting doing anything Disney related on t-shirts? i've done some basic designs non-disney, but i am thinking about my next shirt. I was thinking of maybe putting "kindly watch your step.....please" with a picture of footsteps in the center. or possibly the silhouette of the 3 hitch hiking ghosts from the haunted mansion.

just curious if anyone has attempted anything and please feel free to show a pic if you have. :wave:

britdaw

I am a graphic designer and use CafePress a lot to do custom shirts. However, you can't use anything that is a copyrighted image on their site, so you would have to be careful about what you put on it.
The hitchhiking ghosts idea sounds super cute! And you could definitely get away with that one. ;)

Kev1417

Original Poster
yeah i know about the copy write stuff. That's why i'm trying to think of simple things to do that wouldn't involve copy write. plus i haven't screened using multiple colors/layers yet. figured i could use illustrator to create a decent silhouette and go from there. unless someone has a better idea for a shirt?

sweetpee_1993

I've never screen printed anything before but that's an interesting idea. I used to do custom and/or matching shirts for all our trips. These days I'm more inclined to do a concert or tour type thing with all the dates of our past trips listed on the back just for fun. I hate hate hate the iron-on transfers you get for home use. Even the pricy ones add a stiffness to the material that feels like you're wearing cardboard. I've not been willing to swallow the investment on a shirt press to use the professional quality transfers. And shirt shops will not touch anything even mildly Disney-related. Zazzle is great but those shirts add up FAST!