News Reedy Creek Improvement District and the Central Florida Tourism Oversight District

lordsigma

Again, I’m not a lawyer but I’ve got to think it’s a legal question to determine if the legislature can simply say that a provision that states a dissolution must be put to a vote locally simply does not apply in this situation. While this is being put through the legal system, RCID will continue.
I think at the end of the day there's a very good chance that after the dust settles and media attention moves on from this and they get their bragging rights for sticking it to Disney they'll quietly declaw the provision and most of the status quo will continue.

lazyboy97o

If they wanted to, the county could force them to apply for a permit every time they need to replace a lightbulb.
Not without apply the same rules to everyone else. This effort is not being driven by local officials, who have no interest or benefit to gain by making life difficult for Disney. If anything, their current inclination is to make Disney happy because they will need cooperation for Disney if they want to ensure the financial burden does not fall on them.

DisneyCane

Again, I’m not a lawyer but I’ve got to think it’s a legal question to determine if the legislature can simply say that a provision that states a dissolution must be put to a vote locally simply does not apply in this situation. While this is being put through the legal system, RCID will continue.
I think that it might depend on when that provision was signed into law. If RCID was established prior to that provision then I don't believe it is an issue. If the provision existed before RCID was established, then I would assume there is an issue that would violate the ex post facto clauses of both the Florida and US Constitutions.

ABQ