Which Camera?

Fashionista007

Original Poster
I'm getting married in September and we finally decided to drop our old P&S and invest in a DSLR. I received a Target gift card and we want to use it to help pay for the camera. We're looking for something for beginners and a bit antiquated because we can only afford about $500 total. I found a few that I'm interested in and I'd be happy to hear some people's thoughts, like I said, I'm a total DSLR newbie!

Nikon D3000 $470

Fujifilm T200 Bundle $319.99

Olympus PEN E-P1 Bundle $499

My photography aspirations include dark rides, fireworks, and (most importantly) the safari. We have never gotten good pictures of the animals on the safari and we're big animal lovers. On our last safari the lion got up and roared and I'm so sad we couldn't get a picture or video :( Any help is much appreciated!

NowInc

I'd say nay on the D3000 and see if you can maybe get a D3100 (obviously a little more), or the now discontinued D5000 (getting cheaper now that the D5100 is out).

Dark right photography really requires a much better sensor than most lower model DSLRs offer, but you can "make do" if you get some fast glass.

Fashionista007

Original Poster
I'd say nay on the D3000 and see if you can maybe get a D3100 (obviously a little more), or the now discontinued D5000 (getting cheaper now that the D5100 is out).

Dark right photography really requires a much better sensor than most lower model DSLRs offer, but you can "make do" if you get some fast glass.

Thanks for your input, a photography enthusiast friend of mine also said D3000 or similar.