Value Resort Choices

ExtinctJenn

Original Poster
Those that have read any of my trip reports (linked in signature) or seen many of my posts here know that we tend to stay at the value resorts. We spend very little time in our room and just can't justify spending more for rooms that we really just sleep and shower in. As a result, planning is usually fairly simple for us. We book a room at ASMo we're good to go... but...

I'm trying to make a decision regarding our next trip and, though it's a ways off, I started playing with some numbers today and want your opinion on something.

I was using the first week of December as my "play" week (not that we're going then). I noticed the following differences in per-night room cost:

All Stars: $110
POP: $117
AoA (mermaid): $127

We've stayed at POP twice and loved it... this last trip in March though we specifically stayed there because of it's proximity to AoA and wanting to tour it. The tour ultimately lead to us realizing we'd really like to stay there. We were playing with the idea of saying "screw it" and booking a suite (my DS7 reallllly wants to stay in the Cars suites) but we're talking $173 more a night over a mermaid room so I think that's out.

What I'm trying to get a feel for is your opinions on if the extra $17 a night is truly worth it for the mermaid rooms vs. another stay at ASMo. Over the course of a 4 night stay (which is what we usually do) that'd be about $80. Doesn't sound like much but we are a family on a tight budget so wherever we can save is preferable. Ultimately it's really more justifying it in my head and my husband's head that the $80 is worth it.

Note: We are a family of one female (me) and two males so the room theming in general isn't really a "plus" for us vs. the ability to use the AoA pool and proximity to that food court and just being on that property in general.

Thoughts?

Monty

Brilliant...and Canadian
In the Parks
No
My personal opinion: