The "Disney Look"

TubaGeek

God bless the "Ignore" button.
Original Poster
I just read an article on another site about a cast member who is suing Disney because they wouldn't let him wear his turban and grow his beard (he was sikh). Obviously, this isn't the "Disney Look," but I certainly don't think it's fair to fire someone because their religion requires them to have a beard and turban.

I'll leave you lot to ruminate while I run and hide in a bomb shelter... it could get ugly.

Mouse Crazy

This is a difficult one, Surely when you go for the interviews/job offer this is explained in your contract, if people dont want to accept this they simply dont take the job. I understand how important religious beliefs are to people, and similarly how important it is to Disney to not show prefernce to any particular religion.

828tnt

i think it depends. i work in the industry, so i get the "image" detail. i also understand personal freedom.

the real issue is that when working with the public for disney- in most circumstances- you are a part of the show.

deal with it! it was a choice when you got that far! you can't be a dwarf and be taller than snow white, goofey isn't chubby, blah, blah, blah!

this is comical! i've had to lose my beard to take a job in the past.

america is full of choices........ not as sympathetic as some would like i know.

TubaGeek

Original Poster
I had to grow my hair into a mullet for a lead in a musical once... though as bad as that was, it certainly wasn't a religious thing.

This is a difficult one, Surely when you go for the interviews/job offer this is explained in your contract, if people dont want to accept this they simply dont take the job. I understand how important religious beliefs are to people, and similarly how important it is to Disney to not show prefernce to any particular religion.
I totally agree..

MinnieLee