Art of Animation or Beach Club Villas?

Otooleh

Original Poster
This is my first time planning my own trip to Walt Disney World. I've been four times before, but always as a guest of family members who are DVC members, and we have always stayed in Old Key West. I've always wanted to stay at Beach Club because I love the pool, the location, and Beaches and Cream.
We will be going on our own in 2017 with my daughter who will be 6 then. She's been once before but she doesn't remember it, because she was just under 2.
Budget will def be an issue for us, but I think we will probably be staying for a week. We usually spend the afternoon's back at the resort swimming, and my daughter loves to swim. I thought she would love the pool at the beach club.
I've been trying to decide between renting DVC points and getting a studio at beach club villas so we could have the good location and a kitchenette to eat some meals in our room.
But... The more I read about AoA, it sounds like it is great for kids (and she's a huge princess lover so she'd love the Little Mermaid theme). Plus, it's way cheaper and it seems like it might also have a nice pool (but not great location?).
Just curious if anyone has advice? I'm not sure which way I want to go. They seem like totally different resorts. Thanks!

slappy magoo

Is it just you and your daughter? Not trying to pry, I'm only asking because the Little Mermaid rooms are significantly smaller than Beach Club studios. I consider them small enough that, if anyone in your party is less-than-petite, it can feel crowded.

On top of that, Beach Club Villas will afford you walking distance (as well as transport-by-boat) to two of the four parks, making it likely that, if you do visit Epcot or Disney Hollywood Studios, you'll be back to your hotel for rest and pool time in the afternoon significantly faster than if you wait for a bus back to AoA.