Are magic bands worth it?

Danielli5

Original Poster
This is my first time on these forums so sorry if this has been asked before but here we go!

I've booked to go to wdw in October with my girlfriend. It'll be her first trip and my 15th but I've not been in about 5 years so all this mymagic+ is new to me!

We're staying off site in Kissimmee but have got a 14 day unlimited ticket. My question is it worth buying a magic band on the first day? Because I'm not onsite will my only benefit be that the park ticket is linked to it or can I still link a credit card if I'm not staying onsite?

Any help would be much appreciated and I can't wait to return to the magic!

sxeensweet

Love a little Disney every day!! ;)
Unfortunately the only thing you will be able to use it for is getting in the parks, FP+, and Memory Maker if you get one. You can not add a credit card to the band for charging.
I would still buy one for convenience as the solid colors are only $12.95. Also if you want some ride videos and pics from rides that do not have anywhere to scan a physical card like 7DMT it's so much easier with the band. You wouldn't have to have the pics or videos looked up/found by the Photopass staff etc for those particular rides that auto link those by your Magic Bands.
I personally like the convienience of the Magic Bands. :)

Tylerb08

I thought you could link your credit card to the band but could only use it to purchase items/scan entry etc. in the Disney Parks. So it really wouldn't matter just more convenient than swiping a card every time.

sxeensweet

I thought you could link your credit card to the band but could only use it to purchase items/scan entry etc. in the Disney Parks. So it really wouldn't matter just more convenient than swiping a card every time.
You can only link a credit card/charge to room if staying onsite and the OP is not staying onsite. They can still use for entry, FP+, and memory maker if they decide to purchase that option. :)

Rob562