A Brief and Incomplete History of Splash Mountain

mickEblu

Last night I touched upon a little bit of the history behind Splash Mountain’s creation. I’d like to talk a bit now about the actual ride experience, and some of the storytelling techniques present in the attraction. I’m not an expert at any of this stuff- so if anyone has anything to contribute/correct please chime in. We’ve all ridden the ride- so I’ll focus less on the basics of the story and more so on the why behind it. Daveland has the best lit photos of the ride’s interior I’ve seen, so I’m going to be pulling heavily from that site. I tried to make the photos small for space reasons... click on any photo for the full size version.

Everyone’s first view of Splash Mountain is something like this (but with water and logs and music and strollers everywhere)-

WbWl4aKhSVOFRk5F4Tu-eNIC3nQcYUxl0FfOuxyeRVoJeyzJ4LHswvgFUQsdrCvm9hD5QAy6dvTuuE8HIBIkRl3d8LaH1fS8Tkj0clgOrD0ujKDasj2Lp748NDoDsXHtlUQDrTZU

This whole structure is very loosely inspired by Chickapin Hill as seen in Song of the South-

AlJpIYLACmwG9bzaVYPcFq-7zmkfD3080fU6ImHweqHmW2CIJbzhpxHpxojY2q39uejkS0zKy5ZWyzmVCfdV7i10KqOPZrzYaQ9cK3eMwmN_NjwKrG3jaimJbNxvqkBmAWI0JAk_

I’m not quite sure what the cabin on the left was intended to be (besides a beautiful aesthetic), but the structure as a whole captivates anyone that sees it. Having the riders drop out of site is intriguing- it creates a ‘wait! Where did they go!’ and for younger visitors, a slight fear since you can’t see how far you’re actually dropping. It added kinetic energy and excitement to that whole half of the park Placing the tree on the top of the mountain was initially pitched by Tom Morris (or at least, he says it was) to act as a weenie (another old school Imagineering principal), and worked to give the structure a far more defining presence than the Knott’s ride that inspired this one-