DHS Parking lot remodel and expansion

Tom Morrow

I'm confused about the demolition of that overpass. Wasn't that road the only way to enter northbound World Drive from westbound Osceola Parkway?

danlb_2000

Premium Member
It was. But a new ramp has been built that replaces it.

Yep, you can see it in this picture

1584800199484.png

kthomas105

I am not a road engineer so I don’t fully understand the reason they wanted to remove the bridge. The new ramp achieves the same thing as the old ramp with the bridge. I understand, because of the new DHS entrance, the bridge is superfluous As no traffic needs to cross the ramp any longer. With that said wouldn’t it be fine to leave it that way until the bridge ages out? I get the advantage of removing the bridge provides a straighter approach ramp without an incline or decline but it just seems like a lot of work for no substantial reason, again based on my own (non-engineering) opinion.

Magic Feather

I am not a road engineer so I don’t fully understand the reason they wanted to remove the bridge. The new ramp achieves the same thing as the old ramp with the bridge. I understand, because of the new DHS entrance, the bridge is superfluous As no traffic needs to cross the ramp any longer. With that said wouldn’t it be fine to leave it that way until the bridge ages out? I get the advantage of removing the bridge provides a straighter approach ramp without an incline or decline but it just seems like a lot of work for no substantial reason, again based on my own (non-engineering) opinion.
Previously, there were two ramps right next to each other: the first, cast member only access for DHS, and the second, access to World Drive. Guests frequently took the wrong ramp, leading to a 10 min headache for the guests and cast. Now, with the Star Wars Hotel about to use a very similar access area, it was deemed better to streamline all three into one ramp.

Monorail_Red_77