News Spaceship Earth Refurb - 2 Year Closure

Jones14

Sounds like Mystic Manor’s conceit, just taken as a symbolic rather than literal ‘sparkle’ being applied to things as we ride through each scene. If the ride is shifting it’s focus from communications to storytelling, I’d imagine the light’s function will be to highlight what advances or improves the ability to tell stories. In Egypt’s case, it’s the hieroglyphics.

It’s not a bad idea (if unsubtle), but previously the narration called attention to the communications elements within the scenes, which leaves me to wonder what the narration’s purpose will be in this new version.

eddie104

I think people should be happy they are even keeping some of the original attraction but I’m no Epcot expert. I can’t wait to see what they are able to create using today’s technology. Projections are a part of any modern Disney ride so I don’t why all of the sudden people are acting brand new about that.

MisterPenguin

President of Animal Kingdom
Premium Member
Is it, though? It's too dim for me to see if they are actually projecting anything. :)

I had gotten into the habit that if I was going on SSE during daylight hours, to close one eye as I'm getting in the queue (almost always FP, which is almost always available day-of). Then I open it once in the dark tunnel. That way, one eye doesn't have day-blindness and I can see the first scene. I also close my eyes for the photo for the same reason.

True story.

Nunu

Wanderluster
Premium Member
I had gotten into the habit that if I was going on SSE during daylight hours, to close one eye as I'm getting in the queue (almost always FP, which is almost always available day-of). Then I open it once in the dark tunnel. That way, one eye doesn't have day-blindness and I can see the first scene. I also close my eyes for the photo for the same reason.

True story.
Sounds like a good method. I just wonder if someone might think you're winking at them. ;)

Tom P.