Do people really think this??

jaklgreen

Original Poster
Hi all, I am a baker in a small cafe and have noticed over the past 3-4 years that people have stopped giving sufficient notice on special orders. It used to be that we would get at least 3-4 days(which is what is best and sometimes actually needed to get the work done) down to the night before and even the morning of. So Recently, I got a phone call from a lady that wanted several of my muffins. The last few times she had just called the morning of and was stuck with what we had available, even though she wanted much more. So she basically wiped us out at an early time of day. I explained to her that she can give us a couple days notice and we will make more for her and have them put aside. She goes on to say that she does not want to do that because she thinks that if a person orders ahead then they get old product. I was shocked at the reasoning and am now wondering if people actually think that now, all of a sudden, and that is why people have started waiting until the last minute. And I would also like to explain how bakeries, especially smaller ones, work. When we come in at 3 am, we start baking what we prepped the day before and start prepping for the next day. We do this because many items need several hours in their process like cinnamon rolls. They need to be made, proofed(risen), baked, cooled, iced. So there is not enough time to do all of that in the morning. So if anyone wants any kind of special order for a bakery, we need to have that order by the time we come in the day BEFORE you want it. So if you want something on Friday, you need to order it by Wed, so I have that order when I come in on Thurs. So do you all think that if you order ahead that you get old stuff?

donaldtoo