Nikki Bird? Anyones recent opinion?

CommandoDisney

Original Poster
So im planning my Spring Break trip to the World but being a poor college student i must unfortunately stay offsite. and after perusing all the hotel sites online and relying very heavily on the unofficial guide, i decided on the Holiday Inn Nikki Bird hotel. but i was just checking out so old posts who said this place sucks! i picked it because its been rated pretty well (3-3.5 stars) and only $60 a night! the pictures seem nice and it also says it was recently redone. i cant imagine why the unofficial guide would give it such a good rating if it sucked so bad. i really dont want to get there and realize i overpaid for a lousy hotel. i could get a room in some dump for $40 if i wanted to be that cheap but id figure i could spend a little more to get a mediocre place. if anyone has any thoughts or knows where i can get a nice place for under $60 a night i would GREATLY appreciate it!!!

The Mak

I have stayed at the Nikki bird on 3 seperate short trips in November 04, Setember 05, and December 05. The grounds are well kept. Customer service was friendly and prompt. The room was clean and full of information about the WDW resort. The television also has the resort TV loop simulcasted on its own channel.

I can't comment on the quality of the food at the resturaunt (Angel's Lobster Buffet) as I chose to eat at the Perkins across the street in my past trips. There is also a 7-11 two doors down from the Perkins if you want any snacks and whatnot.

The arcade is pretty run down with a selection of a few dated games, however there are 2 pool tables and 2 air hockey tables. Those will keep you entertained for a bit.

There's a free shuttle in the morning to the TTC. There are returning shuttles later in the day from each park, however the departure times are typically immediately after each park's closure, so be prepared to take a taxi back to the hotel if you plan to stay until park closing.