Mario Bros. Taught Me Everything I Need to Know...

profscottraynor

Original Poster
Growing up in the 1980's I had the obsession with the Super Mario Bros. game. Now I am a professional artist/designer who teaches at a University. I'm good friends with one of the Psychology professors and we collaborated on a poster.

"Everything I Learned about Motivation I Learned from Mario"

It grew out of a lunch conversation about the original game and how there are specific goals and time constraints. Not to mention you have to learn from your mistakes.

We made it for fun. Hope you enjoy.

The link and full image is here:

http://www.itats.org/everything-lear...learned-mario/
Motivation-Mario-Cover-550x230.jpg

luv

That's cute. Is that the game where the characters ride around on a track? Like Mario, Donkey Kong, the princess and Toad?

When I played my son, I was always Toad. I probably played that game 200 times and only won once.

What I learned from Mario Cart:

1. Winning doesn't matter if you can be the cutest.
2. A rare and hard-won victory is more satisfying than 100 easy wins.
3. Kids like their moms enough to play the only game she can play, just to play with her.
4. Kids get ED when mom beats them, disrupting everything they knew to be true in their universe.

profscottraynor

Original Poster
That's cute. Is that the game where the characters ride around on a track? Like Mario, Donkey Kong, the princess and Toad?

When I played my son, I was always Toad. I probably played that game 200 times and only won once.

What I learned from Mario Cart:

1. Winning doesn't matter if you can be the cutest.
2. A rare and hard-won victory is more satisfying than 100 easy wins.
3. Kids like their moms enough to play the only game she can play, just to play with her.
4. Kids get ED when mom beats them, disrupting everything they knew to be true in their universe.