Thanks for everyone's input. Yesterday I sent an email to Universals and they told me in the email that butterbeer DOES contain dairy.
I wanna cry now.![Arghh :arghh: :arghh:](/styles/default/xenforo/smilies/arghh.png)
I wanna cry now.
![Arghh :arghh: :arghh:](/styles/default/xenforo/smilies/arghh.png)
Butterbeer contains no dairy or High Fructose Corn Syrup.
It was from an interview with Chief Chef Steve Jayson, who was saying that they wanted as many people coming to UOR as possible to be able to enjoy Butterbeer. And that JK Rowling refused the use of High Fructose Corn Sweetener.Just curious, where did you get this information from? Because I just emailed Universal and the Chef there emailed me back said that butterbeer does contain dairy.
It was from an interview with Chief Chef Steve Jayson, who was saying that they wanted as many people coming to UOR as possible to be able to enjoy Butterbeer. And that JK Rowling refused the use of High Fructose Corn Sweetener.
It has actually been reported in many places that Butterbeer is Non-Dairy. I am surprised at Uni's email.
The 407 number I listed on the first page is the one Uni lists specifically on their site to call for dietary questions and concerns.
You could try giving it a call.
Upon further research, Butterbeer contains Sodium Casenite, which is a milk derivative. Sorry for the confusion.Yeah I know which article you are referring to, I read that myself. But now I am a bit confused from the email that I received from Universals.
Does anyone have any thoughts????
Upon further research, Butterbeer contains Sodium Casenite, which is a milk derivative. Sorry for the confusion.
http://jimhillmedia.com/editor_in_c...t-universal-orlando-made-butterbeer-real.aspx
That is what Jim Hill wrote about it and I think the confusion comes in here
Butterbeer is lactose free and made with real sugar not corn syrup so most would consider lactose free to be ok for those with dairy allergies. Only you know your own body and what you can eat. I would love to try a pina colada but I am allergic to coconut.
Both my kids are allergic to dairy, so I'm familiar with this and attempting to find dairy-free foods/drinks.
There is a huge difference between lactose-free and dairy-free when it comes to an individual with a dairy allergy and can easily get mixed up.
Lactose is only one ingredient within milk which is the sugar component of milk. So if something is lactose-free, it is not dairy-free, therefore it would be okay only for an individual that is lactose-intolerant. Something that is dairy-free, would be okay for someone that is lactose intolerant or has a dairy allergy since that would mean all components of the milk are not within the food item.
I've got a minor lactose intolerance and frozen butterbeer with the whipped cream was enough to cause minor discomfort. I actually tried to order the stuff without the cream and the employee operating the machine adamantly refused to leave it off, citing "trademark issues". Despite the fact that her grasp on US intellectual property laws was tenuous at best, she absolutely insisted on squirting a bunch of the stuff into my cup.
Good stuff but, yeah, if dairy is an issue it's a no-go.
Same goes for fishy green ale, I'm afraid, though to a lesser extent.
On the bright side, gilly water is a go, as is pumpkin juice and orange fizz.
If you're old enough, though, I'd recommend Dragon Scale. It's the best theme-park-specific beer I've had yet.
I've heard if you dump a nip of vanilla vodka in butterbeer it counteracts the dairy portion. Either that or after three you don’t care.
Could make for some interesting...lactose intolerance...though.I highly doubt that. But thanks for the input anyways.
it must be in the topping- many "Non-Dairy" whips have milk derivative in them such as cool whip.Bummer
Register on WDWMAGIC. This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.