Do you take your kids out of school?

jaklgreen

As a student teacher I'd say this is, for the most part, a bad idea. We teach many things in "units" and those usually last around one week. Units build on top of each other, so if you miss one it's kind of a big deal. Parents whose children are doing well in school think there's no harm in taking them out for a week, but they don't see them struggle inside the classroom to keep up with everyone else. It asks a lot of them.

That just means the education system is flawed. A child should be able to miss a few days and not have to struggle so much to catch up. They can be given some of the extra work weeks ahead of time so they can get a head start on it. My brother broke his leg really bad in 3rd grade and was in traction. He missed months of school from being in the hospital and then at home recovering. A teacher came a few hours a week to teach him and he was caught up by the time he went back. I know it was just 3rd grade but still. My husband was a sickly kid and missed a bunch of days and he always seemed to do well in school. If missing a few days or even a week puts a kid that far back there is something wrong with the teaching.

PugsNotDrugs

haha Oh, I know the education system is flawed. Don't even get me started... I may not stop! :mad: You'd be amazed at how many people pull their kids out of school for a week without telling the teacher. That means they are not getting any lessons while they're gone, and life in the school is still happening. Most public schools don't stop teaching the entire class to make up for a student that has missed a week.