News 5G Cellular Service Installation Under Way at WDW

Brian

If you have a router made during the last five or so years, you have 5G as your WiFi.

In other words, it's already made it inside your house.

networkpro

In the Parks
Yes
Thanks for the passive aggressive correction.

My point regarding 5G hysteria stands.

Dont be so smug, you're wrong with your frequency list. Since I work as a design Engineer in that industry let me clarify what 5G is: its communication encoding and operation methods that can be used on any frequency.

If you were saying that electromagnetic radiation using any of these technologies were already present inside the majority of people's domiciles that would be correct.

wdwmagic

Administrator
Premium Member

PHOTOS - 5G cell towers at Disney's Grand Floridian Resort​

Disneys-Grand-Floridian-Resort-and-Spa_Full_40870.jpg

MisterPenguin

President of Animal Kingdom
Premium Member
Hey, 5G experts...

What exactly can be done to 'hide' a 5G tower? What materials would be 'transparent' to its frequencies?

donsullivan

Premium Member
That's all they came up with? Why not do it like everyone else and put it on a lamp or something to hide it... Shouldn't be surprising I guess considering the box across the lagoon.
It’s likely that Disney doesn’t own any of this equipment, nor are they installing or managing it. As a result, they would not want it integrated into anything they own or manage. Doing so could constrain them from making changes to their things later should they desire to. If they wanted to move a light pole, they’d need to coordinate with the company that manages the cellular service and then you run into coverage issues if something just goes away. With this approach, (just as it is today) the cellular infrastructure is independent of everything else and is owned and operated by a licensed carrier. The difference is that the highest performing 5G requires a lot more antennae per acre of land vs the LTE we’re all used to.