From the OS: Gator drags child into Seven Seas Lagoon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daveeeeed

I have my stance because I know where I am going, without anyone warning me. I don't know about every harmful thing at every place, I'm not saying that I extensively research all wildlife of where I am travelling, but I just do not think about the probability of an attack.
If I did then I would never do another dive or take my kid snorkeling...I just don't want to think about those things. Yes, I'm aware of my surroundings, I do night dives but I won't take my son in the ocean at night. I stay away from grassy areas in bodies of water etc. But I don't walk around thinking an attack will happen.

I have no knowledge of the ground at Shades of Green, but from what you described there is a very good reason for the signs. Water and grass off of a sidewalk are awesome areas for alligators. A beach full of people during a movie is not. An attack at either place would have been shocking, the GF beach, more shocking, because no one expects for an alligator to come around with that many people there.
EXACTLY MY POINT. I've seen alligators sunbathing at the shades, people have seen alligators swimming at the Grand Floridian. The fact that IT WAS AN INVITING BEACH at Grand Floridian where most people would never even consider gators being there. Disney has known about gators being in there for decades. They should of had signs up, because like in you words said: Water and grass off of a sidewalk are awesome areas for alligators. A beach full of people during a movie is not. You're wrong though about a beach full of people is not. It is not a good place for them to go on the beach yes, but it is a fine and dandy place for them to hang out along the water, especially at night looking for their prey.

BlueSkyDriveBy

This was just a disaster waiting to happen.
Disney knew about the gator problem.
Cast members complained about the gator problem.