Taking The Kids Out of School

rileyspaw

I've noticed that many families plan their vacations at all times of the year not just in the summer when most kids are out of school. As a retired school teacher I was simply wondering if anyone has ever faced any negative feedback from their school district when asking to take your child out of school for an extended period of time?

wcj1968

So why exactly should the teachers go out of their way to compile a special packet of work so that you can take a "cheap" Disney vacation. Do you offer to pay them for their time or is it just expected??? The fact that this discussion even exist is testament to the Low ranking our educational system receives when compared to other industrialized countries.

Upvote 0
I live in MA. I dont have any kids and i didnt go to school here but my b/f did and im almost positive the rules werent that strict at his school. as a matter of fact his sister is missing school next week for a disney trip.

My parents traveled for work every year the first two weeks of school and then later in the school year and would take us (but they didnt have a choice) we were never too much behind because there isnt much learning the first two week but before we went away we would visit the school and the teachers so we were prepared. In the middle of the year we always took the work on the plane with us and down time on vacation did school work. We were never behind and it was great to be away.

Upvote 0

LaughingGravy

So why exactly should the teachers go out of their way to compile a special packet of work so that you can take a "cheap" Disney vacation. Do you offer to pay them for their time or is it just expected??? The fact that this discussion even exist is testament to the Low ranking our edcational system receives when compared to other industrialized countries.

The spelling, grammar and punctuation above is what points to the cause of any low ranking of our educational system.