Thanksgiving at Disney World...anything special?

Kurtj43

Original Poster
This is my first time spending Thanksgiving at Disney World...do the parks do anything special on that day?

Any parades or holiday themed stuff beyond the opportunity to buy a turkey leg (which you can get any day)...

...any feedback would be appreciated!

Thanks!!

Matpez

nothing really special beyond the most massive huge crowds the park gets all year...

(maybe not as busy as July 4th, New Years eve, or Christmas, but so close you wouldn't know better)

WildcatDen

Has something changed since 2004? We were at the MK on Thanksgiving day and did not think the crowd was unbearable. In fact, we were able to do just about all the things we wanted to.

We did notice that Thanksgiving day was the more crowded than all the other days that week.

We are heading back this Thanksgiving as well :sohappy::sohappy:

Crockett

Banned
If you can try to go the week before Thanksgiving, you will find the crowds a lot more tolerable. Probably our favorite time of the calendar year to go. But be warned if you go from 11/24 on...it will be quite heavy.

Nothing different really, just the Christmas decorations up. So that means the Osborne lights are on but nothing special besides that. Everyone says the crowds are huge, but I've always been able to do everything I've desired without too much of a hassle.

majorrfb

Thanksgiving Day........Nope!

Thanksgiving Day is much to busy for our tastes. So, we go a week to 2 weeks after Thanksgiving and the crowds are moderate at best. Christmas decorations are all up and everything is very festive. Over the many years, we tried New Years, Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas (school vacations). Our absolute favorite time is now late November and early December to be in the World. See you Dec. 1, in the Magic Kingdom. :wave: :xmas: :sohappy:

Pioneer Hall