Just booked the Polynesian 7/28/14-8/4/14. Was that a mistake?

TJDinMA

Hello all. I just booked the Poly for the dates and I am wondering if it was a mistake? Being from New England we do not take too kindly to the humidity and all and I recently read the pool will be demolished as we arrive. My wife and I are both turning 40 and are celebrating her birthday while we are down in WDW. I have always wanted to stay at the Poly but it has been too expensive as we have 3 children as well. I have stayed at the PORS and loved the resort, but disliked the long lines going to and from the parks. I am a school teacher during the year so I can only go during "peak times" it seems. I was wondering if I should change my reservation to the Contemporary? Or should I ask for a discount as the pool will not operating in July? I have always wanted to stay at the Poly and it seems the first time I stay there should be the best and not settling. LMK what you think. Thanks.

Minthorne

Hey a New Emglander here too! I'd switch. With the pool down and all the construction I don't think the Poly will be as relaxing or charming. The contemporary is great (but it's pool is kind of boring) or consider the Beach Club for a fantasic pool and location.

Upvote 0

Tuvalu

Premium Member
If the volcano pool is closed, there is still a quiet pool you can use. Also, in the past, when a "feature" pool is closed, Disney offers those hotel guests the option of using a nearby pool. In the case of the Poly, it would likely be Grand Floridian (you can walk or take the boat from Poly to GF.)