Pre-Trip Fourth Time’s the Charm? A “Keeping My Fingers Crossed" 30th Birthday Pre-Trip Report

So.

I’m hesitant to write this pre-trip report for two reasons: 1) It’s so close to my trip, is there really a point? And 2) I haven’t had the best luck with Disney trips for the last three years. I’m starting to think I’m cursed.

But, I digress. First things first.

WHO: My mom (Ele) and me (Carrie) — we're leaving my dad home for our very first mother/daughter trip!

WHEN: April 7-April 13

WHERE: Beach Club Villas

WHY: My 30th Birthday!

(Mom and I with Timon in AK during our December 2018 trip!)

Disclaimer: I am a writer, so I tend to be verbose. I promise lots of pictures to make up for it. But I also love painting word pictures, so…..

There were many reasons for this trip. The first of which being that I was FREAKING OUT about turning 30 and I joked to my mom sometime the middle of last year that the only way I’d be OK with turning 30 was if I was in WDW when it happened. Since my birthday is April 10, and thus always falls during spring break insanity, I’ve never been in my favorite place in the whole wide world on my birthday.

My mom likes Disney, but she’s not obsessive like my dad and I are. So I really didn’t think anything would come of my off-the-cuff request. But the next thing I knew, she was asking me one day, “How many points do we have left in 2019?” (We’ve been DVC members since 2001.) We’d borrowed points for our trip during Christmas 2018, but we had about 100 left, which I told her.

Next thing I knew, she asked, “Where would you want to stay if we hypothetically went for your birthday?”

Say WHAT?

“Beach Club or Animal Kingdom Lodge.” I’ve always wanted to enjoy Stormalong Bay, and we’ve tried to get BCV in the past with no luck. I’m also obsessed with animals (especially giraffes, the BEST animal) and AK is tied for my fav park.