Advice with first Cruise.

DisneyDoug85

Original Poster
Hi all, I'm looking for advice/help with planning our first family cruise. We're heading to Disney this october for 7 nights, so this cruise will be for next fall preferably in november so that we can enjoy christmas decor. (i assume they decorate around the same time as the parks do?) At first i was leaning toward doing a land and sea vacation with a 4 night cruise and 2 or 3 nights in Disney, but now I'm leaning toward the 7 night Western Caribbean cruise.

Im wondering how that sounds to people that have experience with the cruises, and maybe more specifically whats best for kids? My kids will be age 6 1/2 and just about 3 by next fall. Is there a specific ship i should look for, what location on the ship should we have our room? Whats the weather like typically in november/december? Anything else to look for would be great as i am completely new to planning a cruise. thanks so much for any help!!!

imahistorygeek

I would bookend a WDW trip for a smaller cruise for your first one. I say this because if you've never cruised before, you may not know how you or your family deals with sea sickness. My DH and I felt a little queasy on a 3-night, but are now used to it. If you end up with a 7-night and some in your party doesn't handle it well, it's going to be a very long trip. We took our daughter on a 3-night a few months ago. She's never been prone to any type of motion sickness. She said she felt sick the entire time and it lessened her enjoyment. My point is, try a shorter cruise first and see how that goes and then go for the longer cruise.

rob0519

Our first cruise was a 4 night on the Wonder. It was all we could afford at the time. Honestly, the time went by so fast, it seemed like a two night cruise. With the shore excursions and Castaway Cay, we didn't have enough time to take advantage of even half of what the ship had to offer. So my advice would be to take the 7 night cruise.

Hakunamatata

Le Meh