The Spirited Seventh Heaven ...

ChrisM

Time for me to trot out my favorite comparison ...

Even as a poor student, I was able to afford a WDW vacation back in the day.

In 1974, WDW did not sell 4-day tickets. However, a 2-day ticket with 17 Adventure Book cost $14.25 (with tax). Minimum wage was $2.00/hour so that’s about 7 hours of work for a 2-day ticket, or the equivalent of about 14 hours of work for a 4 days.

In 1984, a 4-day WDW ticket with park hopping was $52 (with tax). Minimum wage was $3.35/hour so that’s about 16 hours of work.

In 1994, a 4-day WDW ticket with park hopping was about $143 (with tax). Minimum wage was $4.25/hour so that’s about 34 hours of work.

In 2004, a 4-day WDW ticket with park hopping was about $233 (with tax). Minimum wage was $5.15/hour so that’s about 45 hours of work.

In 2014, a 4-day WDW ticket with park hopping is about $377 (with tax). Minimum wage is $7.25/hour so that’s about 52 hours of work.

WDW never was cheap but, Disney increasingly has been pricing its customers out of the market.

While Disney prices are outrageous, egregious, and manifestly unjust (Jackie Chiles!), it's interesting to note that the relative percentage increase between '74 and '84 (14.3%) is actually fairly close to the relative percentage increase between '04 and '14 (15.6%).

The increases between '84 and '94 (113%!) and '94 and '04 (32.6%) are where things went really freakin' whacko. Inflation and minimum wage rates obviously play a role here, but still...

Goofyernmost

yep..when your queue is better than the ride you may want to redefine your priorities
Since you spend substantially more time in the queue then the ride, I'm not sure but there shouldn't be more refinement in the queue then the ride. It's all one show leading up to an ending.

Time for me to trot out my favorite comparison ...

Even as a poor student, I was able to afford a WDW vacation back in the day.