Trip report Disneyland resort 17-20th may 2012

md0u80a2

Original Poster
Hi

Here is my report from a short trip - my first to disneyland. It has been a while now, but I was sick today, so thought I would give it a go!

I have visitied WDW and DLRP multiple times before.

I was on LA for business and decided to visit for a couple of days - I was by myself!

First impressions - eh. Now, before I am flamed to death, please read my last few sentences again - I am a UK resident who has been to WDW multiple times and DLRP.

I arrived at about 5pm at the quality inn and immediately walked over to the park - that was unique - a walking distance, cheap hotel next to a disney park! Why would anyone pay for the official hotels - there further away?

Walked straight in DL and headed for Star Tours - there was only a 20 minutes standby and so went on that first. This was great - the new version is excellent. The 3D adds a lot, C3P0 is fantastic, the graphics breathtaking and immersive. This is an excellent piece of work.

Then Captain EO - missed this is paris last year as the kids screamed the pre show area to bits, but it looked a little tired. Shame really, but fun to see MJ on screen none the less.

Then, back to IHOP for great dinner and bed.

Next morning, I headed out at 8 for DL. Went straight to Indy for fastpass and then on to space mountain with 5 minute wait. This was great. I love WDW space mountain as it is exhilarating in a very safe and non-intense way. The sound was excellent.

Then I could not resist Star Tours second ride - this was great again!

Then, nemo subs - these I liked - I guess I was watching with my dad hat on. Thought kids would love actually being in real sub and the tech worked better than in the living seas in a sub IMO.