Please be kind, I'm a newbie

huffy

Original Poster
Just returned from DW in April. Did the Vacation Club tour and think it could be a good fit. After much reading on the subject, still have questions. First off, pretty sure I would go resale. Just can't do those other prices.
My daughter and I are the Disney freaks and she loves VWL, which is where we usually stay. From the posts on this forum it seems because of its size it might be hard to book.
Also, don't want to go into debt, so is it stupid to just start with a small amount of points and hope to keep adding on.
Would appreciate any advice you seasoned vets can give me.

EOD K9

If you don't plan on using points for cruising or using the Disney collection, and just staying DVC, resale is the way to go. If you buy resale, getting a contract and VWL would give you the 11 month window. Obviously, DVC, gives you flexibility to stay at other resort property. You absolutely must be flexible. I totally get your not wanting to go into debt comment. You could buy a small contract for about 100 points. That should be sufficient for a studio for a week depending on where and when you stay. Good luck!!

216bruce

I'm a VWL owner and bought resale (before the restrictions, by a few months). Only once was I shut out and that was for the 2015 Wine and Dine race weekend. So, is it possible to get shut out? Obviously yes. But, if you plan way in advance and are the least bit flexible, then you should be OK. It is a smaller resort, but among the best without a doubt.
AS far as contract size goes...buy what you can afford and no more than you are VERY comfortable with. Life can change in the blink of an eye and you don't want to get saddled, even short-term, with something that hinders day to day financial reality. Like stated above - 100 points is a good start and adding on is always an option.