My Disney College Program Trip Report 2013

I have never written a trip report before, so I’m not sure how this is going to go. I usually just jot down some notes in a kind of diary while I’m on a Disney trip, just to record the memories. When you’ve been to Disney World every summer since 1998, it’s hard to remember the whens, wheres, whats, whos and whys. I can’t tell you the year I slipped over on the wet floor in the Main Street Bakery when someone forgot to put out a wet floor sign. I can’t tell you the last time I rode in the front on the Monorail. I can’t tell you how long it took me to get over my fear of the zombies which jump up behind the tombstones in the HauntedMansion (although it’s probably close to 10 years!). And, as much as I’d like to, I can’t tell you how long it took me to complete my first VMK in-park quest (but it was so long that I noticed on my last trip that my parents covertly steered me away from the Sorcerers of the Magic Kingdom sign-up area). My whole set of Disney memories are based upon unreliable recollections and fragments of over-watched home movies (and my Dad always insists on filming that tedious Backlot Tour pre-show and about 10 minutes of cars driving down the I4, which just makes me want to hit the eject button!). So a trip report may be the best way of recording and remembering what I hope will be an incredible experience! Who knows, by the end of these 10 weeks or so, I might be the next Tom Bricker of the Trip Reporting world!

At the moment I’m thinking of doing a report update once every week, but when faced with the dilemma of spending the evening writing up the week’s events or heading over to EPCOT to watch Illuminations, I can’t guarantee that the former will win. You guys understand, I’m sure! And I hope to include a few photos in each installment (although not in this one as the camera is already packed away somewhere!)