Mears Shuttle v. towncar

Jennifer66

Original Poster
DH and I get into MCO at 9:30am on Friday, Aug. 29 and are staying at the Dolphin. A Mears shuttle is less than 1/2 the $ of a towncar, but I've never used them before. Anyone have any experience with them? (We don't need a grocery stop, will bring booze in our checked luggage thanks to wine diapers!)

SAV

Our first trip down there many, many years ago we used Mears and it was exactly what it is advertised to be. They get you from the airport to where you are staying and back to the airport. But since that initial trip, we always rent a car. I like the flexibility of having a vehicle and being on my schedule.

You should also look into Quicksilver who is a sponsor of this site.

MorganKelly

Mears is basic transportation that we used quite a few times in the pre-DME days. You will probably share your ride with one or two other groups and will probably make multiple stops unless you are all staying at the same hotel (which never happened on our trips). We once had a bad experience with them. Our driver was a very nice lady, but when we stopped at one of the airport terminals, she gave our bag to someone else who was getting off at that terminal. We did not notice until we were dropped off at our terminal. Luckily, she remembered what the guy looked like and was able to catch up with him to make the switch. All the bags in the van were black, but a quick check of the luggage tag would have prevented the problem.....and we did not blame that entirely on her. And she was very apologetic. Still, it was a stressful 20 minutes. Right around then we decided to check out using a towncar service and that was great. Now we basically stick with DME, sometimes renting a car at WDW for a few days.

RubyLee

Just curious...is the towncar through a service like Uber? I've used their towncars several times in a few different cities & it's pretty cheap.

graphite1326