Is It Really Worth It?

artbell2

Original Poster
I'm just curious. I work full-time in the grocery business as a head stocker (not making much money either) and it frustrates me to no end that I work my tail off but my paycheck doesn't show for it. I bust my tail to the point where my body hurts. And yet people's hours are being cut (luckily I'm getting my hours) but it's all about doing more for less money or also doing more with less people. It drives me insane that I'm doing all this for low wage. I know this kind of job doesn't pay much to start with. However, I do think that I'm being underpaid to a certain extent. I have a very labor intensive job and I'm beginning to feel that it isn't really worth tearing my body up for. I was just curious if any of you feel this way at Disney. Your expected to handle large crowds of people and maintain that Disney corporate image. Do any of you feel working at Disney is worth it? I mean, yes I do know that you get perks for getting in the park free, etc. You come home to the point of complete exhaustion but your paycheck comes home with you so ridiciulusly low. It makes you wonder how anyone is suppose to live off that money.

Thanks,
Mike

Pioneer Hall

I can't speak from experience, but I have heard this similar story from many current and former CM's. Disney is known for their low pay at basically every level except for the executive one. While some people do like the reward of working for Disney and "making dreams come true"...they still have to pay their bills at the end of the month. I guess it all depends on what you are looking for out of your job and how much you are willing to sacrifise.

Tinkrbell

Yes & no.