Internship Questions

DisneyFamof4

Original Poster
Hello everyone!! I'm currently a college student in N.C. and I have to complete an internship for my program (Interior Design) to graduate. I'm wanting to work at Disney World in the Design field, so I'm planning on completing my internship there. Does anyone know how I go about doing this? Do I have to apply for the internship myself or does my college do it for me?? Is it hard to get an internship with Disney? Does Disney typically keep interns on for full-time employment after the end of the intership?

fugawe09

If you are needing an internship strictly related to design, you are probably looking for a Professional Internship. This is something YOU need to apply for and you should know that they are very competitive, so I wouldn't bank graduation on it without a meaningful backup plan. In fact you may want to see if a College Program roll is acceptable for your school, because those are easier to land. Some areas, especially Imagineering, take PIs with no Disney experience if you have the right qualifications, but for some areas you are all but disqualified if you have not previously done a College Program in a more "front line" type role.

Does Disney keep interns? It varies a lot by area. In Imagineering they tend to keep successful interns if the project they were working on is continuing, but they tend to make them "independent contractors" meaning you are self-employed and contracting yourself to Disney. Sometimes you can maneuver your way into a true Disney role from that position, sometimes you end up out on your butt.