Imagineers

joe pickering

Original Poster
Hello I'm new to the forums here even though I've been following this website for years now. All of the talk about the leadership of imagineering has led me wondering who is truly trying to continue Walt's vision and what people are creating different paths for the future. I know very little what kind of people joe rhode, rasulo, staggs, John Lasseter, Fitzgerald, magnum, and others are like and what they have done. If you could help me understand what each imagineer is like and what they have accomplished I would appreciate it! Thanks and sorry for any misspellings of the names.

I think the fingerprints of their work are evident in most of the attractions/parks of the last ten+ years.

It also seems like there is a collision in ideals for the direction of the future and we are seeing a lot of the fruit of that (Im an outsider looking in so all I have to go by is the fruit of their collective labor)

Seabasealpha1

Okay,

So, I'm no expert on every last Imagineer...nor do I know a ton of things about the ones you've listed or even some of the greats...

What I would suggest, is getting a good book about Walt. Learn about the beginnings of the company and follow the story up to the creation of WED Enterprises. Some of the first Imagineers weren't theme park designers...they were animators and people who worked for the studio. I would learn about the earliest Imagineers like (these are just a FEW examples) Marc Davis, Yale Gracey, Rolly Crump (who wrote a seriously kickin' book recently!), X Atencio, John Hench, Bob Gurr, Claude Coats, Herbie Ryman, and several others...

Then work your way to Marty Sklar and Tony Baxter (we're transcending styles, time, and series of Imagineers)...learn about EPCOT and how it was put together and by whom...you'll start to see Joe Rhode appear a bit here with the Mexico and Norway pavilions...along with several others...