ID for a toddler on Southwest Airlines

TrentMom

Hi All. Has anyone flown on Southwest recently with a toddler? My DH and I are going to WDW with our DS, who is 2 and a half yrs old. I swore I read on their website, that no on under 16 needs an id. Then, a friend of mine who flew on another airline with a 2 yr old was given a hard time because she did not have id for her daugther. I just want to be prepared.

So, does anyone know do I need id for my DS?:veryconfu

Thanks
Trentmom
18 Days!!!!:slurp: :slurp:

westie

Yeah, i remember a girl just like you crying at the airport. You better have a birth certificate and a letter of parental consent with a Notary stamp if even considering flying out of state. Imagine trying to register at a hospital? No, you need more!

Upvote 0

maharet97a

I've never flown Southwest, but my hubby and I have been flying with our daughters since the oldest was 2 months old and have never been asked for an ID for the children. The oldest will be three in June, and again when we flew home for our Feb WDW trip, we were not asked to present an ID for her or her little sis. We've flown Delta, United, American, US Airways and Continental and have never been asked for anything other than boarding passes when boarding or going thru security. I would definitely check with the airline before leaving though. It may be an airport policy, but I can't imagine why they would. With the exception of passports for international travel, I have never heard of ID being needed for a child.

Upvote 0

Ciciwoowoo

I have a photo id for my son from school that I always carry with me. He even used to get one as a toddler from his daycare. It's one of those missing children ids. They are really good to have, just in case, IMO.

Maybe check with the Walmart photo department about getting one?

Just to be safe, if I were you, I'd carry a birth certificate. I figure its a very easy thing to carry and can save you a lot of misery, just in case you need it.

Upvote 0