First time at F&W and MNSSHP

mdubm

Hello! I am an avid WDW visitor, but as I've always been a student or teacher, I have only been at Christmas or during summer/spring break. My class is taking a trip through YES in October and I'm trying to plan for the upcoming trip.
It's me and two other adults whom I work with, along with 15 students (eek!) Our students are trustworthy enough that we are allowing them to explore parks on their own, followed by meeting up at dinner and random other check-ins. We have 3 day park hoppers. We are staying off site.
My situation is unique. This is my first time at Food and Wine and I'm STOKED! What are some must-dos? Obviously I'm not "drinking around the world", but I can try one or two things. I'm mostly excited for the food.
Is it worth it for us to splurge on MNSSHP? The cost when we go is close to $100. We can't drop a ticket day, the minimum we could do was 3 day PH. So, we can't drop a day to save money and just attend the party. I'm thinking it may be a no, but it has always been on my bucket list.
Any other tips or must dos for a first timer at WDW in the fall? (Not a total first timer- just a fall first timer).

I am Timmy