Excited for trip!!!!!

bchbm2022

So as my title says, like many of you I am super excited for my next trip. Unfortunately I have to suffer 258 days of reality until then. I just book a 6 night stay at Coronado Springs for myself and my parents to celebrate their 35th wedding anniversary in May 2015. As I'm a grad student, I'm doing things a little cheaper, although I sprung for a moderate resort because I wanted a bit of a more adult atmosphere for my parents instead of larger than life characters everywhere. That's not to say the value resorts are bad as we have stayed at the All-Star Music in the past as well as Pop Century and loved them. I didn't do a magic your way package as we are getting cheaper 4 day tickets plus a 5th free through my work benefits program, and we aren't getting a dining plan or tables in wonderland because it wouldn't be worth it as we don't eat a ton of food and we don't need all those desserts that come with every quick service meal. I have a few questions. The first one is when is a good time to buy the tickets. I'm about 8 months out so I don't want to just yet, but also wanna get them before the prices go up for next year. Second question may sound stupid, but we have been using our DVC to go since 2005, and this will be the first trip we pay normally and not stay in a villa. This is also my first time making trip reservations of any kind. After making the deposit after booking online, do you pay the rest of the balance at check in? I'm not sure how it works and the chat thing on Disney's website was unavailable at the time of booking. Any help would be great.