hurricane issues this/next week?

PlutoHasFleas

I am also a Tampa Bay resident and have "lived" through hurricanes my entire life. But we have never had a direct hit here. They are not something to mess with and are definitely not fun.
I'm not sure how one would "mess with" a hurricane, and I would agree there is nothing generally fun about high winds, not being able to go outside or drive anywhere, or losing power. However, the times I have been trapped indoors because of the storm outside have always been good times. No work, no school, living off supplies and booze with a bunch of friends for a few days. I doubt my experiences were the typical ones, but it's honestly what you make of it.

kelknight84

I'm not sure how one would "mess with" a hurricane, and I would agree there is nothing generally fun about high winds, not being able to go outside or drive anywhere, or losing power. However, the times I have been trapped indoors because of the storm outside have always been good times. No work, no school, living off supplies and booze with a bunch of friends for a few days. I doubt my experiences were the typical ones, but it's honestly what you make of it.
Yes we were lucky and that is all that happened those times. But just south of us, less than an hour away was destroyed by Charley. Houses blown away like toys and people lost everything. I actually was in college in Orlando at this time and my apartment complex was badly damaged. Even that far inland.

The Mom

Premium Member
Forgive me, I will hesitate to provide my opinions on something I am as experienced in as hurricanes from now on. I've only lived through hurricannes for 28 years.

I've "lived" through hurricanes for 60+ years (as has Nemo14) The experience as a mother with children and a household to run was very different than when I was young with little or no responsibilities. It was not fun and games anymore. And that was without injury or property damage.

jakeman