what kind of Video camera to buy?

wdwmomof3

Original Poster
Hi! I am looking for a new video camera and I need a little help. I would like one that records onto a dvd. I went shopping for one and the sales person told me that some people complain that they "skip" a lot while you are recording. Is this true?

I have a budget of about 400.00 to spend and I found a Sony, DCR-DVD108 for that price. What should I do? Any advice that you can give me would be great. :)

WDWGuide

I am no expert, but from what I have heard, direct-to-DVD cameras make editing your videos more difficult than, say, a tape or HD-based camcorder.

NeedABreak

I prefer a cam that saves to HD.

Main thing you need is something small and light, lugging a big cam around the parks stinks and you will leave it at the hotel after the first few days.

Champion

JVC Everio.

Don't buy Sony based on the name. The lenses are very nice, but you can get them in other cams for lots cheaper. The rest of Sonys stuff, besides the lens, are mediocre at best.

PhilharMagician

DVD recording cams only record about 25 minutes of video per mini disc, so that has you changing discs quite ofter.

Hard drive based cameras have the issue of having enough memory to hold enough video for your trip, unless you load it onto a laptop during your trip. Then the issue of keeping the videos or storing them. Video in the raw form takes up huge amounts of HD space and you will probably have to purchase removable HD's to store the videos on for future viewings.

MiniDV tapes are extremely high quality and small. The tapes are easy to store and keep for future viewings of your videos. The tape also holds a minimum of 60 minutes recording time and other sizes are available.