This School Year Needs to END....

lpet11984

Original Poster
So I'm sitting here in my office, finishing up some end of year business and :brick:to myself for just recently having discovered the chit-chat part of these boards...It's perfect timing though, as we've just had a tragedy happen that I need to talk about...I hope this is the right place to put it...

I'm an instrumental music teacher in a high school who has unfortunately seen its fair share of death this year. We had an 2007 grad and a pair of current students (sophomore and senior) who were all killed in separate automobile accidents earlier this year. We've had a major bomb scare, dogs and all. We had freak snow storms that almost caused us to extend our school year. We've had lock downs. Teachers passing away from cancer. We are a relatively small district with good kids, and to have all of this happen within 9 months is just weird. And just as things are winding down and we're almost in the last week of school...

...we've just had a student commit suicide. A senior who would've graduated this week. It's so unbelievably sad and tragic, and yet everyone is so mentally exhausted and numbed from everything this year that there's no energy left to even let it sink in.

Here's hoping everyone makes it safely through finals next week so the students can finally get the rest they need...

Nemo14

So I'm sitting here in my office, finishing up some end of year business and :brick:to myself for just recently having discovered the chit-chat part of these boards...It's perfect timing though, as we've just had a tragedy happen that I need to talk about...I hope this is the right place to put it...