Since this is Chit-Chat, lets talk Insurance.

Goofyernmost

Original Poster
My insurance needs are pretty small. I rent now having sold my home and downsized. My health care is taken care of by the VA, so I only have Medicare, which I have yet to use, and don't need all the extras. I do, however, have a car and it's giving me fits.

I got my drivers license in 1964, 50 years if your counting, and during that time I have had zero accidents, only one traffic violation (70 on an interstate after President Peanut Farmer lowered the speed limits to 55). For a number of those years I was a professional driver (bus and truck) on the road all day long. In short, the only claim I have had on my insurance is a damaged windshield from a rock thrown up from the highway.

Now I have a car that I love and don't want to get rid of, but, it's now 8 years old, but in perfect condition. Every year my insurance rate goes up and up. I have been insured through AARP, which is supposed to be a good deal but this year I have been shopping around. I have found exact coverage for $200.00 per year less then I am paying now, with exactly the same coverage. It is with Progressive (you know Flo's place).

My question is does anyone currently have Progressive and if so, what has been your experience? Have there been any problem? Is the service good? I have always been of the thought that you get what you pay for, but, frankly I don't trust insurance companies to care about me. You many times get better deals signing up, but, then get the old double shuffle and BAM, you're paying through the nose. I also realize that when you are an established customer they never give you a break in rates, just the new signers.

I know this is pretty long winded, and I'm almost ready to switch, but, I am looking for input of experiences. Thanks. What say you?

Nemo14