Quarterlife Crisis

MAF

Original Poster
Anyone else ever gone through what they call a "Quarterlife Crisis"? Right now I have a bachelor's degree in marketing, yet I can't get a job with it in my area. I thought about getting my Master's, but then I realized that maybe marketing and business isn't really for me. It kinda sucks that I got a degree in something that I honestly am not really interested in at all. It seems like the only careers available are in sales, and I'm just not a salesman at all. Has anyone gotten a degree in something that really didn't fit them and then regreted it later? Help!

myhappyplace

Crazy Cat Lady
Premium Member
Well, I am a few years above a "quarterlife crisis", I am 29. My degree is in Communication Disorders. I thought I wanted to be a Speech Therapist. You can't really do much with that unless you get your Masters, which, after I graduated, I decided I did not want to do. Too much research, when all I ever really wanted to do was work with children (I really should have majored in Early Childhood Education). So now I am a toddler teacher at a YMCA Child Care Program -and absolutely LOVE my job! I've been there for 7 years and its where I hope to stay for a long time.
I regret that my degree is in something I don't use a whole lot (although I did learn Sign Language and Language Development, so that helps when working with 1 and 2 year olds), but I am glad I have a degree. Things just have a way of working themselves out.

One Lil Spark

EPCOT Center Defender
Wow... If you were my friend on facebook or had talked to me in the past 6 months you'd know quarterlife crisis is my life motto right now!! :lol:

I went from being engaged to the man of my dreams to having him leave me last October for a younger girl. (He's 28, she's 22.) My world was turned upside down.