new to dining plan

Disney Stine

Original Poster
I apologize if this question has been asked before, but I am new to the dining plan. I know you can have a choice of either a non alcoholic or one alcoholic beverage during your meals. I have cape may cafe, ohana, and liberty tree tavern booked for my trip coming up. All three of these restaurants include a soda in their price already. Does this mean I can get a soda AND also get one alcoholic beverage with my meal, or do I have to pick between them?

I appreciate all answers!

DisneyGigi

It is one or the other. I would Pay out of pocket for the soda. :) Good choices with restaurants! Love Cape May & ‘Ohana. Liberty Tree is really good too.

Disney Stine

Original Poster
It is one or the other. I would Pay out of pocket for the soda. :) Good choices with restaurants! Love Cape May & ‘Ohana. Liberty Tree is really good too.
Thanks! Will the server be okay with letting me pick which one to pay for? They don't automatically make you pay for the more expensive item?

DisneyGigi

Thanks! Will the server be okay with letting me pick which one to pay for? They don't automatically make you pay for the more expensive item?
Yes, just tell them- If my husband orders beer, which is cheaper than a cocktail and I have two, we pay out of pocket for the beer. Use dining credits for alcohol. They do not make you pay for more expensive. Same thing at Counter Service.

Disney Stine

Original Poster
Yes, just tell them- If my husband orders beer, which is cheaper than a cocktail and I have two, we pay out of pocket for the beer. Use dining credits for alcohol. They do not make you pay for more expensive. Same thing at Counter Service.
How do they do this at places where soda is already included in the meal price? It’s not an a la cart item on the menu? It’s already factored in to the price of the entirety of the meal.

DisneyGigi