Epcot Seas Aqua Tour-- Scuba breathing?

lpet11984

I'm definitely looking into doing this tour when I go on my next trip...I've never done a tour at WDW before, and this one just sounds so absolutely brilliant that I think it would be more than worth the money, but....

I'm nervous about the scuba equipment. I've never been snorkeling before let alone trying to use scuba breathing apparatus. I am a professional musician though and know how to breathe relatively deeply...What is this like? Is it hard to breathe? Can you adjust to using it easily? Will the folks at Epcot help you out if you're having some issues? Is it relatively self-explanatory?

TIA-- if this goes well, I may try to get my scuba certification so I can join my aunt on some dives...

WDWRLD

I dont know if it the same as it was a few years ago but you had to be a certified diver to do the diving tour at The Living Seas.

Upvote 0

lpet11984

Original Poster
Oh man! I hope not...this is the tour I was looking at:

Epcot Seas Aqua Tour
Non-scuba-certified guests have an in-the-water experience with the animals using scuba-assisted snorkelling equipment (provided); swimsuit required; no observers permitted backstage; refreshments, T- shirt, and group photo provided.
- Offered daily.
- Ages 8 and up (Parent or adult guardian must sign waiver for all minors aged 8-16 AND must participate in the program along with the minor.)
- 2.5 hours duration.

Maybe it's changed though??

Upvote 0

Blonde Princess

You do not need to be a certified scuba diver to do aqua tours. We have done it a number of times with our 8 and 11 year old sons.

You are given a scuba-like breathing system, tanks, regulator, guages and mask. The tanks have floats on them. You get a partial wet suit. You can not dive down and will remain on the surface. They are easy to use and there are cast members in and out of the tank to aid you. My 8 year old had no problems.