Disney CMs calling guests " Friends"?

Fable McCloud

I'm a teacher, and we've been trying to find ways to address a group of students without saying "guys". It's difficult to find the right words. I tend to just say "hi everyone" and go from there. It's inclusive, neutral and not creepy. It's not as personal or welcoming, but it works.

I really like the idea I saw on here of the CMs calling people Mousekateers. That's cute and appropriate.

Magicart87

No Refunds!
Premium Member
I feel like "folks" fits the WDW vibe best. Not sure what would be ideal for DL and beyond. "Friend" seems impersonal and odd especially when I don't know them directly. "Mousekateer" is a definite No. It's too wordy and forced, as if being pandered to. "Folks" seems the most endearing, IMO. The "on theme" approach seems best: Howdy Partners! etc. Or when in doubt say "Everyone" Keeps it simple. On-theme salutations based on location then just "folks" or "everyone" for any in a group.

Last edited:

dmw

In the Parks
No
1602010092776.png

DisneyAndADoleWhip

I have this ingrained in me from teaching kids. It’s no longer “boys and girls” or “students” it’s “friends”. Honestly, I have zero problems with it.
We don’t even use the term “parents“ when referring to the child’s caregivers. It’s “adults”, “grown-ups“, or “the people who take care of you”. Inclusiveness for the win!

MAGICFLOP

Actually surprised they have not done this before now, always in business, you should call people by name to imply friendship, but their is no way for them to call people by name in the park, so "my friend" help convey that.

TrainsOfDisney

Actually surprised they have not done this before now, always in business, you should call people by name to imply friendship, but their is no way for them to call people by name in the park, so "my friend" help convey that.
At Disneyland where the cms still scan your pass, I’m greeted by name about half the time at least.