What was the plan for the Small World 50th Update?

Heppenheimer

Other than meet with a dozen ambassadors / embassies from African countries in NYC or DC and inquire what would be a good way to represent their peoples? (If there weren't already embassies or consulates in Los Angeles, and couldn't afford to fly to the East Coast, they could have called and asked for a pamphlet.)

It's a Small World isn't awful with cultural representation, it just needs to update a blind spot. It did will representing a few African cultures and tribes, but then gave up after four and filled the rest of the Africa room with animals.

It also needs to replace the leprechaun with actual Irish people. There's the offensive stereotype in the ride: replacing a people with one of myths and not doing that to any other culture.
Do leprechauns actually offend anyone? Just saying, I graduated from a certain university where the much-loved mascot is based on depictions of the Irish you might find in a 19th century phrenology textbook. There was always a letter every year where someone would complain that the largely Irish-American student body should have found the mascot offensive, and this idea was always met with amused indifference.

And doesn't the Scotland scene feature Nessie in Disneyland?

rreading

This I don't understand at all. In the second quote, you correctly identify that it's about cultures.... which are peoples.

But in the first quote, you dismiss the lack of African cultures in favor of looking at animals. The African room has a dearth of cultural representation and is half animals.

It is indeed a small world if you ignore most of the peoples of a whole continent.