Disneyland Half Marathon

kevlightyear

Yeah, Clif had no presence at the Expo. They gave out sport beans on the course.

Also on the course were Race Guard support teams. We visited their booth at the expo. Celebration Hospital still ran the med tents, but the Race Guard duos were running the course and were there to provide on the spot first aid. I saw them a bunch--really cool service.
http://www.raceguards.org

Texas84

Well Sunday morning came around and in spite of the heat, I thought I might go for it, after all I did a 11 mile run in 90' weather back home. However I knew it would be a challenge, so in a brilliantly foolish stroke of "genius", I decided to do the run/walk with the 2:00 pacer. This in spite of the fact that I have never done the run/walk before. My logic was "it's hot" I need to do something different. What I failed to take into account was that in spite of the walk breaks I had not trained to run an 8:40 pace even for short bursts. So I could not get enough wind back during the walk breaks to sustain the increased speed I was churning out for the first 5 miles of the race.

I saw the 2:00 pacer in corral B and I just laughed. Hahaha, NO! :D

RunningKoen

Saw a lady pass out after the race near the ferris wheel.

It was just so hot, people forget to keep hydrating.

The extreme heat just quickens the process, but this is a problem in general.

I've seen several people going down, or ambulances on the route during 15K/10M races without heat (running in the Netherlands ... )where they lack hydration before or during the race. It even happened to a friend of mine during a 10K race with max temperature around 60-65?

At the first time, it was quite scary for me to see; but after a while you'll almost get used to it. Same for people struggling with (severe) injuries during a race. Runners are weird people for sure.

Last edited:

dreamfinder

Yes, Clif is phased out, they do not provide energy shots or bars any longer. It was some sport jelly bean.