WDW vet, first time cruiser - advise appreciated

Alyssacuse

Original Poster
Hi all!

I'm a WDW veteran, and my husband and I are looking to do something a little different for our next vacation for our wedding anniversary, and I'm leaning towards a Disney Cruise - neither of us have done any kind of cruise before, so we're total newbies!

I've been doing some research and browsing these forums, and I'm leaning towards a 7-night Eastern Caribbean cruise in November 2017 leaving from Port Canaveral (Disney Fantasy).

I would love to hear about your cruise experiences and any tips/suggestions you have to make the most of our trip! I'm curious about the room-booking process -what are the recommended locations on the ship? Is a Verandah room worth it? Also, we are two adults traveling without kids, so looking for adult-oriented activities that still incorporate that Disney magic that we love! What are some things we shouldn't miss? Thanks :)

belledream

Yay, Disney Cruising is so much fun!

We got a verandah room on the Dream and definitely thought it was worth it. Our second cruise was on the Magic and we opted for an oceanview room since the verandahs weren't the same plexiglass ones on the Dream. Still found many quiet moments and solitary places to sit/stand/oceangaze in the public areas of the ship. So I would definitely say go for it if budget allows, but you won't be feeling but you won't be feeling totally incomplete without it.

Plenty of adult activities on board, with the obvious bars/nightlife areas, but we also enjoyed the family-oriented activities like trivia and crafting. :p

Castaway Cay is absolute heaven! Take some time to rent bikes/enjoy Serenity Bay. EAT ALL THE FOODS!

Master Yoda

Pro Star Wars geek.
Premium Member
I can help with a few of those things.