How to successfully transfer?

artfiction

Original Poster
The title question might be a bit odd. But here's my story:

I have been working at WDW as a food server for almost two years (since I was 18). I have tried to transfer (applied) to 12 different type of jobs (office-wise) and I keep getting "No longer in consideration." How can I change this? While I do like working at a restaurant, my major is Computer Science and I would LOVE to have a job where I can at least touch a computer.

I have changed my resume and cover letter for the better. But I feel like you can't get those office jobs unless someone knows you from within or have all the experience in the world. But how can you gain experience if they don't give you a chance? Thank you in advance. :)

DisneyJoe

Do you have a college degree or any computer certification yet?

Another option would be to freelance as a web developer/designer or something you are interested in. There are many sites that would help you get started with that.

Last edited:

artfiction

Original Poster
Have you tried looking outside the company? If you really want to have a job more aligned with your field, that is the best bet.

I've applied to other companies where I have been accepted but the catch is that I would have to put my availability for everyday which I can't do since I go to school full time. But I will know try to apply again at other companies. Thank you for the advice.

artfiction

Original Poster
Do you have a college degree or any computer certification yet?

Another option would be to freelance as a web developer/designer or something you are interested in. There are many sites that would help you get started with that.

Not yet. I'm in my Junior year right now so I'm full time at school and part time at Disney. Can you name any of those websites? All I know is Fiverr right now.

DisneyJoe